Comfort for those living with cancer

Image

Last week Judy and I spent the entire week in Dallas at the Baylor Transplant Hospital. I was evaluated for a Liver Transplant. The people were wonderful and the tests were extensive. Every test looked good for a potential transplant and they even found an unrelated condition, for which I am thankful. They found two small tumors in my neck. They are sure that they are not cancerous and can be removed. We came home feeling good about the future, then I got a phone call that changed everything.

This morning the transplant doctor called and said I had been denied a transplant. She gave a lot of reasons, but somehow I felt it boiled down to the fact that I would be a risk and I might jeopardize their 97% success record. Basically she took the transplant option off the table.

It’s odd how the emotional roller coaster continues. A transplant is the only option for a cure. All other options only delay the inevitable end. I am reminded of taking a piece of steal and bending it over and over until it weakens and finally breaks.

As a Christian my trust is in God, not doctors or medical options, but the emotional stress is still taking it’s toll on Judy and I. As I continue to pray, “Lord, help me be faithful in the meantime.”, I am keenly aware that millions of people are going through exactly what Judy and I are going through. Phones are ringing, doctor’s are entering exam rooms all over the world, bringing disappointment to cancer patients.

We pray for healing, good reports and new cures, but no matter how things go, there always seems to be some disappointment. So the question is, how do we deal with the disappointment?

I have found that praying the WORD always helps me put my faith into every situation. If I am facing discouragement, I need to replace it with hope. I hope you find the following Scriptures helpful as you fight off your discouragement.

Psalm 16:8-19

8 I have set the Lord always before me;
Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

9 Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;
My flesh also will rest in hope.

Psalm 42:5

5 Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And
why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him
For the help of His countenance.

Psalm 119:114

114 You are my hiding place and my shield;
I hope in Your word.

AMEN!

Comments on: "Disappointment Can Be Discouraging" (1)

  1. Judy Kreins said:

    Honey, I am so sorry you are disappointed. I am not the emotional wreck you think I am. Your emotions carry over to me, but I am not disappointed about the “phone call” denying your transplant. I have seen our Lord do so many miracles and close so many doors only to open the right one. We have to trust Him in ALL things. We either trust Him completely or we don’t trust Him at all. He healed you once and He can heal you again! My Father has raised the dead, made the blind to see, the lame to walk, turned water to wine, parted the sea and so many countless miracles and I KNOW that He is more than able to heal you of Liver Cancer.

    I know “it’s not my body.” Yes it is. When we married we became one and your body is mine and mine is yours. I just happen to take a little better care of the one I gave you..LOL I love you. I don’t want to be on this earth without you. If I cannot trust my husband’s care and life to the very One who created you, I might as well just give up on my Faith.

    John 16:24
    “Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.”

    Psalm 34

    “1 I will bless the Lord at all times;
    His praise shall continually be in my mouth.

    4 I sought the Lord, and He heard me,
    And delivered me from all my fears.

    7 The angel of the Lord encamps all around those who fear Him,
    And delivers them.

    8 Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good;
    Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!
    9 Oh, fear the Lord, you His saints!
    There is no want to those who fear Him.

    19 Many are the afflictions of the righteous,
    But the Lord delivers him out of them all.
    20 He guards all his bones;
    Not one of them is broken.

    22 The Lord redeems the soul of His servants,
    And none of those who trust in Him shall be condemned.”

    Psalm 33
    “18 Behold, the eye of the Lord is on those who fear Him,
    On those who hope in His mercy,
    19 To deliver their soul from death,
    And to keep them alive in famine.

    20 Our soul waits for the Lord;
    He is our help and our shield.
    21 For our heart shall rejoice in Him,
    Because we have trusted in His holy name.”

    And finally our “favorite”:

    Philippians 4:
    6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
    Meditate on These Things

    8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. 9 The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”

    I love you Sweetheart and we are in this together … the THREE O Us.. Me YOU and Christ.. And He is in control!

Leave a comment