Comfort for those living with cancer

Is Wasting Time A Sin?

It seems impossible that it’s been a year since I heard, “You have liver cancer.” I can remember, as if were yesterday, the feeling in the pit of my stomach as I heard those words.

Time really does fly by as you get older! But more importantly I came under conviction today that wasting time is a sin!

Image

Eph. 5:16,17 Making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

Pro. 6:9-11 How long will you lie there, O sluggard? When will you arise from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, and poverty will come upon you like a robber, and want like an armed man.

Col. 3:23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,

As I was waiting on the Lord this morning in prayer I was struck with the awful realization that I haven’t used this past year as well as I should have. There are so many things I haven’t done in this life.God has blessed me with all of this time, but I have not thanked Him.

I asked the Lord to forgive me for even one minute wasted. He was quick to remind me;

Luke 9:62 But Jesus said to him, “No one, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”

Image

So, looking forward, I have purposed in my heart to not waste the time God has given me!

Please let me ask you two question,

“What are you doing with the time you have been given?”

“How do you find ways to spend your time profitably?”

I have a simple suggestion. It may not sound profound or quotable, but I think it is sound advice for us all. Whatever you are doing, whatever you are thinking of doing, whatever you would like to do….. ask yourself, “What eternal value does this thing have?”

Will it encourage a discouraged person?

Will it help someone find peace with God?

Will it reveal God’s Glory to someone?

Will it plant a seed of the Word of God?

Will it please God?

I think there is an endless list of questions that could motivate us to reclaim the time. God gives us encouragement in these words from Joel 2:25a

                            And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten

Let God restore the time!

Comments on: "Is Wasting Time A Sin?" (3)

  1. ilove2pot@yahoo.com said:

    Hi Steve. This has been on my mind as well lately. I don’t have a goal yet…answer. Still waiting. I guess I need to be still a little longer.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. pastorsteve70x7 said:

    I think “Goal Setting” might be a key. God says without vision My people perish.

  3. The last verse you mentioned, from Joel, is one that has comforted me seriously after many years of domestic violence and mental health issues with my ex, having to raise my 4 children as a single mom, and waiting on God’s timing for the introduction of a new spouse. God’s economy is so different than ours, as are His view of time and justice. He can do things above and beyond our expectations, yes, but we often forget that the universe is in His hands and what would be impossible otherwise is no big deal for Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

