Comfort for those living with cancer

Living with cancer causes us to have some desires that we never had before. Obviously we have a desire to be healed. We may have a desire to redeem wasted time and do the things we haven’t gotten around to yet. We may have a desire to overcome the fear associated with living with cancer.

One of the desires I developed was a desire to make sure my family was taken care of after I was gone. I also acquired a desire to mend broken relationships in my life. Of all the new desires I found myself with, one trumped all the rest. I desire to be faithful in the meantime! I want to please God with the way I live out whatever time I have left. I want to hear those words, “Well done My good and faithful servant.”

Image

One of my favorite Scriptures is Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord, He will give you the desires of your heart.”

This Scripture is often misused. Ask yourself this question and see if you have been using it correctly. Does this mean that God will give you what you desire, or that He will give you new desires?

This is an extremely important question when we are living under trials! We have faith to believe God’s Word and then get frustrated when He doesn’t seem to respond the way we think He should. Maybe it’s not God’s will that I be set free from cancer. Maybe He has a BETTER PLAN! All I can do is trust Him and be faithful in the meantime. I can also get my life on the right course to serve Him by asking Him to give me the desires of HIS heart!

When I have the desires of God within my heart I can’t go wrong! My goals will be His goals. My plans will conform to His plan. My desires MOTIVATE me and give me purpose!

Look with me for a moment at some areas of the desires we already know God has and we should also have.

In our Thinking – Isa 26:3 The steadfast of mind Thou wilt keep in perfect peace, Because he trusts in Thee. “Lord, give me the desire to think like You!”

In our Looking to God – Heb 12:2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. “Lord give me the desire to see You and all my circumstances!”

In our Hearing from God – Isa 55:3 Incline your ear and come to Me. Listen, that you may live; And I will make an everlasting covenant with you, According to the faithful mercies shown to David. “Lord give me the desire to hear You!”

In our Talking about the Lord – Ps. 105:2 Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; Speak of all His wonders.”Lord give me the desire to talk about You to everyone!”

In our Doing for God – Heb 13:20-21 Now the God of peace, who brought up from the dead the great Shepherd of the sheep through the blood of the eternal covenant, even Jesus our Lord, 21 equip you in every good thing to do His will, working in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen. “Lord give me the desire to do Your will!”

In our Going with God – 2 Cor 5:7 for we walk by faith, not by sight. “Lord give me the desire to walk with You!”

What other desires can you think of to ask God for? The one I am praying for today is based on John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. “Lord give me the desire that none should perish!” 

Leave a Reply

