Comfort for those living with cancer

When I saw the picture of the flying dog I laughed so hard I cried. Oh how I wish I could “Live Like Someone Left The Gate Open”! I’m trying, I really am.

Image

Judy doesn’t seem to think that I’m living what I’m bloging. She is probably right, at least in part. It’s difficult to do what we want to do, no matter how much we want it. I have decided “To Live” with my cancer, but I must admit, it’s easier to say than do.

Why do you think it’s difficult to do what you want to do? The apostle Paul admitted to this struggle when he confessed to not always doing what he knew was right.

I know it’s important to exercise, eat right and so forth, but I often just find myself sitting in my easy chair and waiting for something to happen. Writing about my life with cancer is a good thing, but it doesn’t burn many calories.

Today I had a major cat scan from my thighs to my chin. Boy, I can hardly wait for the doctors report on this one, not! I’m starting to enjoy any day that doesn’t include a doctor appointment. I really think I would be doing better if I could avoid thinking about “IT”.

What do you do to keep your mind focused on worthwhile things?

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

This week I think I’ll work on being disciplined in my thought life, then maybe I can get my body to cooperate.

Comments on: "Live Like Someone Left The Gate Open" (4)

  1. Oh my darling husband. If you only knew how it hurts my heart to see you in that recliner. I pray every day that you will gain your strength back and focus on the Lord and glorify Him in all things. The greatest thing that has come form this “walk with the Lord” is it gets me out of the house! I am meeting so many people that God brings across my path. They are “divine appointments.” Before the big “C” I never went anywhere except Church and the grocery store. I am out for house every day. God blesses me with people who need encouragement from Him, not me.

    So remember, God uses every situation for His glory. Don’t allow this time you have to focus on the Lord to slip away. It is a wondrous time to learn to:

    Philippians 4:6-9( New King James Version (NKJV)

    6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
    Meditate on These Things

    8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. 9 The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

    This is what the Father has done for me in our situation. “We” have Cancer not you. We are going thru this together. But, sometimes I have to step aside and allow God to work in your life as He has worked in mine. We both have different strengths. He is working you out in the “gym” in the spiritual realm, for the time is short. He has to do a mighty and quick work in you for His purpose. I believe this with all my heart. We will see His return and soon!
    Hallelujah! Glory be to God in the Highest! Thank you Lord for this Trial or Valley. You have walked with us or carried us through many valleys during our marriage, and we have come out Victorious. We will do the same this time. We serve a Mighty and Faithful God!
    I love you husband!

  2. Hello, Steve. Just a few words from you twin brother. You know the same verses as I do. Just remember that the Spirit will bring the right one alive to you at the right time. As one old salt to another, the greek form of the word for help in Hebrews 4:16 is found in only one other place in the NT. In Acts 27:17 (I think) where they pass “helps” around the ship that is about to come apart. In the Navy that is called frapping. You wrap a rope around something to keep it from coming apart. That \’s what God does for us. In the middle of the storm when everything seems to coming apart our God wraps us in his mercy and grace to keep us together. We can’t always hold it together but in His care things will never fall apart. I love you and am praying for you.
    Your brother in so many ways, Glen

Leave a Reply

