Comfort for those living with cancer

Yesterday Judy and I met my Oncologist, Dr. Sarah Conte.

Image

I did not look forward to this appointment and even dreaded it a bit. I had visions of her telling us all of the horrible things that were coming and the hopelessness of the situation. Much to my surprise and delight she gave us hope. The greatest source of fear when living with cancer is a lack of knowledge and the uncertainty that brings. Dr. Conte helped remove some of that uncertainty.

Hosea 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.

She spent nearly an hour talking with us, not at us as some other doctors have done. She answered questions that we were afraid to ask or too ignorant to understand. Rather than putting me on the chemo therapy I had feared, she explained that things were more hopeful than we had thought. Wait and see is actually the course of action at this point. That’s great because “wait and see” doesn’t have any nasty side effects.

She reviewed at length what has transpired to this point in my care. Labs, pathology reports and other doctors findings were all carefully considered by her. She spent a great deal of time making sure Judy and I had a right understanding of my condition and what to expect next. The knowledge she imparted and assuring demeanor went a long ways in allowing us to live today and not fret about tomorrow.

Some future cat scans, MRIs and lab work will determine future course corrections, but until then I can concentrate on getting the rest of my body as healthy as possible. Losing weight is my number one physical priority now. Eating right and exercise to regain my strength are also key to my future.

She did explain a drug called Nexavar that I will be on sometime in the future to slow down the growth of the tumors, but for now it wouldn’t be necessary. That was great news! We go back to review my scans and other tests in six weeks.

I am so thankful that God has provided such a knowledgeable and compassionate doctor! I no longer cringe at the title Oncologist.

Leave a Reply

