Comfort for those living with cancer

When Life Doesn’t Go As Planned

When Judy and I headed off for San Antonio and the Liver Transplant Hospital I had some ideas of what to expect. No where in my mind where the words, “Well, Steve, you are not qualified for a transplant.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Had I completely forgotten that God is sovereign? Am I making this process of life more difficult by assuming my future? Am I getting in God’s way by getting my hopes up? Am I straying off of the path when I anticipate certain outcomes? I seem to have more questions than answers.

Here is the GOOD NEWS, God has His ways of bringing us back on course and dealing with our Father’s business, even when we get distracted. I am so thankful that my future is in His hands and not mine or the doctors. My only real question now is, “How do I glorify God in my daily life and remain faithful in the meantime?”

God’s Word tells me exactly how to remain faithful in the meantime. Joshua 1:8

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

The world is full of distractions, but God’s Word guides us through unfamiliar territory. Cancer or any other distraction can be overcome when I keep my focus on God and His never changing principles for life.

Dear Jesus,

Help me to keep my eyes on You and find time each day to be still and know that You are God. Give me Your peace and help me to trust in You and You alone as I Live this life You gave me.

I love you Lord and You ARE my shepherd and I shall NOT want!

Leave a Reply

